Sections

Sections

In 2019, women represented only 25% of the artists exhibited at fairs, and in public collections. Yet, women artists, and especially women photographers, are numerous.

Why are they so poorly represented in the market? Why do their works attract fewer buyers – both private and public – than those of their male colleagues? Are we so formatted by the codes of a modern art history written by men? Yet, it is admitted that the canons put in place by figures such as Alfred Barr and Edward Steichen are largely outdated. “Arts does not have any gender, but artists do”, wrote Lucy Lippard in Spare Rib (1974). While declarations and laws have awarded them a different social status, women still pay the price of their gender, forever marked by the shadow of inferiority. They need our attention to gain visibility and legitimacy. We must, again and again, propose projects dedicated to women. Without them, the public would miss wonderful discoveries.

The circuit Elles x Paris Photo dedicated to women photographers and initiated by Paris Photo and the Ministry of Cultural Affairs takes form in two axes. The first gives their place back to the women who have remained in the shadows of the history of photography – we wished they were more numerous. The other axis, turned towards the younger generations, features creative women, endowed with tremendous strength, energy and determination.

We have selected around forty women photographers whose projects are excellent. Yael Burtstein, Ira Lombardia, Laia Abril, Delphine Diallo, and lesser known though fascinating figures such as Hitomi Watanabe, Fusako Kodama, Martine Barrat, Anna Bean or Ulla Jokisalo. You will also find great ladies of the history of photography, such as Germaine Krull, Kati Horna, Sabine Weiss or Sarah Moon.

This selection is to be discovered through a circuit, both physical and digital, in Paris and on this dedicated website. Organised in five themed chapters, Elles X Paris Photo proposes imaginary bridges that demand to be built. An occasion to highlight the proximity between generations, sensitivities and aesthetic choices.

Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska, curator of the circuit Elles x Paris Photo

LUMINOUS IMAGES

We often hear that theoretical research on photographic matter is a space reserved for men. The same could be said about geometrical forms. We know, however, that these fields of research are not gendered. In the history of art, since the birth of abstraction, photographers have participated in this adventure. Throughout technical evolutions, photosensitive matter – turning into a new palette – opened up many possibilities. The photographic laboratory became a true alchemist’s chamber, where female creators conducted studies on light and colours, where they explored the very characteristics of photosensitive materials.


Alejandra Laviada

Laurence Aëgerter

Andrea Ostera

DREAMT IMAGES

We know, since Max Ernst’s collages and Dora Maar’s photomontages, that modified realistic images permit the transmission of the fantastic. Photography, contrary to what it is originally thought to be, is able – despite its realism – to visualise fantasies and non-existing universes. With the growing increase of rules surrounding the construction of the photographic image, the female artists learnt to divert from them, to betray them in order to achieve miraculous effects and produce strange visions.


Sara Imloul

Sarah Moon

Agnès Geoffray

Ouka Leele

Diana Markosian

Ouka Leele

Lake Verea

Jocelyne Alloucherie

Kati Horna

TRANSFORMED IMAGES

From snippets of colours and matters, new images emerged. Photographs are painted, embroidered, sewn, cut out and glued back together. In the end, the result has little or nothing to do with the initial material. These new images provoke a rupture of meaning and form, and allow transgression.


Delphine Diallo

Noémie Goudal

Ira Lombardia

Yael Burstein

Aurélie Pétrel

Nicène Kossentini

Joana Choumali

TESTAMENT IMAGES

While photography seems to be a limitless field nowadays, offering a space favourable for experimentations, it has retained, in parallel, its primary function: bearing witness. A selective and tendentious witness, sometimes reflecting more the viewer’s point of view than that of the one they are watching, but always transmitting an aspect of the observed reality. It requires a capacity of observation, synthesis and a master’s reflex. In the 19th century, taking pictures of the streets, of events, remained a privilege reserved for men. Emancipation and the boom of the illustrated press in the 1920s changed the situation. Women documentary photographers such as the Japanese artists from the 1960s and 1970s are still struggling to make history.


Agnès Varda

Lola Alvarez Bravo

Bertien Van Manen

Hitomi Watanabe

Martine Barrat

Beatrix Von Conta

Anna Malagrida

Elsa & Johanna

MILITANT IMAGES

Photographic image as a tool of expression or struggle is the result of a long tradition. It was not until the end of the 1960s, however, that women artists started producing militant images massively – actions before the camera, or performances. Anxieties, desires, visions of the body, or claims are many subjects to study through images or videos. A true revolution that is still continuing today… The website, a light and easy-to-share tool, allows us to perpetuate the circuit and to make it accessible at a time where travels are limited.


Pusha Petrov

ORLAN

Elina Brotherus

Annegret Soltau

Charlotte Abramow

Tanja Lazetic

Sections

Sections

En 2019, les femmes ne représentaient que 25 % des artistes exposés dans les foires et dans les collections publiques. Pourtant, les femmes artistes, et notamment les femmes photographes, sont nombreuses.
Pourquoi sont-elles si peu représentées sur le marché ? Pourquoi leurs œuvres attirent-elles moins que celles de leurs confrères auprès des acheteurs, privés comme publics ? Sommes-nous à ce point formatés par des codes d’histoire de l’art moderne écrits par des hommes ? Il est pourtant admis que les canons forgés par des figures telles qu’Alfred Barr ou Edward Steichen sont largement dépassés. « L’art bien sûr n’a pas de genre, mais les artistes si », exprimait Lucy Lippard dans Spare Rib (1974). Si des déclarations et des lois leur confèrent un statut social différent, les femmes payent encore le tribut de leur genre, toujours marqué par l’ombre de l’infériorité. Elles ont besoin de notre attention pour acquérir visibilité et légitimité. Il nous faut, encore et toujours, proposer des projets dédiés aux femmes. Sans cela, le public manquerait de belles découvertes.

Le parcours Elles X Paris Photo dédié aux femmes photographes et initié par Paris Photo et le ministère de la Culture s’articule en deux axes. Le premier rend la place aux femmes restées dans l’ombre de l’histoire de la photographie – on aurait souhaité qu’elles soient encore plus nombreuses. Le second axe, tourné vers les jeunes générations, donne à voir des femmes créatrices, dotées d’une force, d’une énergie, et d’une détermination formidables.

Nous avons sélectionné une quarantaine de photographes femmes dont les projets sont excellents. Yael Burstein, Ira Lombardia, Laia Abril, Delphine Diallo et des figures moins connues, mais non moins fascinantes comme Hitomi Watanabe, Fusako Kodama, Martine Barrat, Anna Bean, ou Ulla Jokisalo. Il y a aussi de grandes dames de l’histoire de la photographie comme Germaine Krull, Kati Horna, Sabine Weiss ou Sarah Moon.
Cette sélection est à découvrir à l’occasion d’un parcours à la fois physique et virtuel, à Paris et sur ce site dédié. Organisé en cinq chapitres thématiques, Elles X Paris Photo offre des liens imaginaires ne demandant qu’à être tissés. Une occasion de démontrer les proximités entre les générations, les sensibilités, et les choix esthétiques.

Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska, commissaire du Parcours Elles x Paris Photo.

IMAGES LUMINEUSES

On entend souvent que la recherche théorique sur la matière photographique est un espace réservé aux hommes. Et il en serait de même concernant les formes géométriques. Nous savons pourtant que ces domaines de recherches ne sont pas genrés. Dans l’histoire de l’art, dès les débuts de l’abstraction, les photographes ont participé à cette aventure. Au cours de l’évolution de la technique, la matière photosensible, devenant une nouvelle palette, a ouvert le champ des possibles. Le laboratoire photographique devient une vraie chambre d’alchimiste où les auteures y mènent des études sur la lumière et la couleur où elles explorent les caractéristiques mêmes des matériaux photosensibles.


Alejandra Laviada

Laurence Aëgerter

Andrea Ostera

IMAGES RÊVÉES

Nous savons depuis les collages de Max Ernst et les photomontages de Dora Maar que l’image réaliste modifiée intervient dans la transmission du fantastique. La photographie, contrairement à ce qu’on lui accordait à son origine, est capable – et ce, malgré son réalisme –, de visualiser les fantasmes et univers non existants. Avec la conscience croissante des règles de la construction de l’image photographique, les auteures ont appris à les détourner, à les trahir, pour arriver à des effets miraculeux, et produire des visions étranges.


Sara Imloul

Sarah Moon

Agnès Geoffray

Ouka Leele

Diana Markosian

Ouka Leele

Lake Verea

Jocelyne Alloucherie

Kati Horna

IMAGES TRANSFORMÉES

À partir de bribes de couleurs et de matières, de nouvelles images surgissent. La photographie se peint, se brode, se coud, se découpe et se recolle. Et le résultat n’a finalement peu ou rien à voir avec le matériau initial. Ces nouvelles images provoquent une rupture de sens et de forme, et permettent une transgression.


Delphine Diallo

Noémie Goudal

Ira Lombardia

Yael Burstein

Aurélie Pétrel

Nicène Kossentini

Joana Choumali

IMAGES TÉMOINS

Si la photographie semble être aujourd’hui un domaine sans limite, offrant un espace propice aux expérimentations, elle conserve en parallèle sa fonction première de témoigner. Un témoin sélectif, et tendancieux, reflétant parfois davantage le point de vue du regardeur que celui du regardé, mais transmettant toujours un aspect de la réalité observée. Elle demande une capacité d’observation, de synthèse et un réflexe de maître. Au 19e siècle, concevoir des images de rues et d’évènements restait un privilège réservé aux hommes. L’émancipation et le boom de la presse illustrée dans les années 1920 ont fait évoluer la situation. Les photographes documentaires femmes telles que les artistes japonaises des années 1960 et 1970 peinent toujours à s’inscrire dans l’histoire.


Agnès Varda

Lola Alvarez Bravo

Bertien Van Manen

Hitomi Watanabe

Martine Barrat

Beatrix Von Conta

Anna Malagrida

Elsa & Johanna

IMAGES MILITANTES

L’image photographique comme outil d’expression ou de lutte résulte d’une longue tradition. Ce n’est pourtant qu’à la fin des années 1960 que les artistes femmes ont produit, en masse, des images militantes – actions devant la caméra ou performances. Angoisses, désirs, visions du corps ou revendications sont autant de sujets à étudier par l’image ou la vidéo. Une révolution véritable qui se poursuit… Le site internet, outil léger et facile à propager, permet de pérenniser le parcours et de le rendre accessible dans un contexte de déplacements limités.


Pusha Petrov

ORLAN

Elina Brotherus

Annegret Soltau

Charlotte Abramow

Tanja Lazetic